FIVE FOR FRIDAY

by Holly Horning

Over the past 2 weeks, there have been a number of national articles (and radio shows) published that evaluate the Tigers’ rebuild.  All critical, all pointing their fingers at GM Al Avila.  All of them covered here at Totally Tigers this week.

Every piece has indicated that the Tigers have barely started to fill the many holes in their roster.  That the free agents have all essentially been busts, rookies have been struggling and mid-tier players are under-performing.  Some of them indicated that next year’s roster will need even more work given that the level of talent seen this year is not viable enough to stay.

In summary, they believe the Tigers will be slipping backwards in their rebuild. More positional holes will be created next year in contrast to 2022.

So the question now to ask is which of these players will actually be part of the rebuild?  Which ones deserve to stay?  Which ones will become the nucleus of a competitive team?

And that is today’s topic.

Here are the ground rules:

  • Pick 5 players who have played in Detroit this year.  Those who are still prospects cannot be selected.
  • You can choose those who are on the IL.  Even those who simply got a cup of coffee in Comerica.

If you were the GM, which 5 would you keep as you rebuild the team?

  • And if you can’t find 5 players on the roster with the right level of skills and/or promise, that’s fine, too.  Just list the ones you’d keep.  If you can’t fill out 5 names, that will also say something, won’t it?

I’ll start things off.

I would definitely keep:

Riley Greene

Tarik Skubal

Spencer Torkelson

After that, I’m torn and I’m really grasping for straws as I try to fill out my selection.

If forced, I’d also select:

Beau Brieske

Alex Faedo

I hesitate on the last 2 simply because they are still clay waiting to be molded.  I have no idea what they’re going to look like with more experience.  But they are the best of the rest of the bunch.  And it makes me sad that I can’t easily pick 5.

I will also add that I avoided selecting relievers because they are so unpredictable and their efforts vary from year to year.  They are a very transient bunch.

I also avoided selecting players who have spent more time on the IL than playing.  I’m not going to risk picking players like Casey Mize, Matt Manning or Austin Meadows who may be spending more time on the IL more than on the roster.

Now it’s your turn.

(To facilitate everyone’s reading, please list each of your selections on 1 line each.  Extra points if you alphabetize your players so everyone can more easily see the patterns.)

Don’t see your comment? Comments are limited to a maximum of 3 sentences. Please make sure to check out the other rules for posting under the link at the top of the page.


What did you miss on our Twitter feed yesterday?

  • A former Tiger will be managing in the Olympics. He’d also be a great manager in MLB.

Why should you follow Totally Tigers https://twitter.com/totallytigersbb on Twitter?

  • We tweet out breaking news before it’s published in the sports pages. The best news from the best sources.
  • Want more than 1 Totally Tigers fix every day? How about throughout the day?

21 thoughts on “FIVE FOR FRIDAY

  1. Riley Greene

    Tarik Skubal

    Spencer Torkelson

    Michael Fulmer

    I agreed with Holly on her picks. I added Fulmer because I think he is the one RP who has pitched well this year and I expect he will continue to pitch well. IK believe he could be a closer for several years.

    Liked by 7 people

  2. I agree with Holly’s picks. One interesting positive is that all 5 were actually Tiger draft picks…..

    Beau Brieske
    Alex Faedo
    Riley Greene
    Tarik Skubal
    Spencer Torkelson

    Liked by 5 people

  3. Brieske
    Faedo
    Greene
    Skubal
    Torkelson

    Slim pickings indeed and no guarantees. Injuries, failure to develop, and eventual loss of team control hang over these guys like the “Sword of Damocles”.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Greene
    Meadows
    Torkelson
    Baez
    Skubal

    I think there are a few more but i wonder if we need a new hitting coach to make some of these players blossom.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Not much to choose from, an undeniable indictment of Al Avila. Here goes nothing…
    Greene
    Torkelson
    Skubal
    Turnbull
    Baddoo (not yet giving up on him)

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Greene
    Lange
    Manning (too soon to give up)
    Skubal
    Torkelson (hope a new hitting coach straightens him out)
    I included Lange because if we avoid relievers due to up and down nature we lose the right to blame DD for never building a bullpen

    Liked by 3 people

  7. Riley Green
    Alex Faedo
    Beau Brieske
    Spencer Turnbull
    Spencer Torkelson

    I think Spencer Turnbull will be better after Tommy John. I think Brieske and Faedo are consistent enough to keep. I hesitated on Torkelson, but I think he could come around and start to hit.

    Like

  8. Riley Greene
    Tarik Skubal
    Spencer Torkelson
    Beau Brieske
    Alex Faedo

    But I’d also have a hard time parting with Spencer Turnbull and Akil Badoo.

    Like

  9. Baez
    Greene
    Meadows
    Torkelson
    Turnbull

    I chose position players over pitching because of the lack of depth of position players in the minors.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Fun day Holly. Meadows skubal. Turnbull who I liked before TJ. Tork who I think will be a okey marginal player like inge or Avila. Greene whose only been here a couple weeks. That’s rough. And what does that say about AA’s rebuild.

    Like

Comments are closed.