TOPIC FOR TUESDAY

It’s Tuesday folks, which means it’s your day! Today is the day for reader feedback.

Most weeks like today, there will be a topic on which to respond, while once a month for “Open Mike,” readers get the opportunity to comment on the Tiger topic of their choosing.

This is the one day of the week where we open up the comment parameters for you, so you can really get those juices flowing. Comments on THIS DAY ONLY can be expanded to a maximum of 8 sentences.

We can’t wait to get your feedback on the following topic.


Who within the organization has underperformed the most to help bring the Tigers to this point?

14 thoughts on “TOPIC FOR TUESDAY

  1. Like yourself Holly, my wife and I are looking forward to our annual Lakeland spring training trip in March. One of our favorite restaurants in Lakeland is Manny’s Chop House. Do you have any favorites to recommend ?

    Like

    • Hi, Shawn – Unbelievably, we don’t eat in Lakeland, in part because our home base there is outside of Tampa. However, I do recommend Frenchy’s Tiki Bar at the Phillies Bright House Field. 🙂 Hope our paths cross in Lakeland this March! – Holly

      Like

  2. DD is gone, too short time period to put the hat on AA. So it’s got to be Ausmus. Truly a fish flopping on the dock. Now more important matters- where to eat. Hotdog and strawberry shortcake at the park in Lakeland.. The Colonade in Tampa and move over Holly, Frenchys at the ballpark in Clearwater. Dunedin road trip for Blue Jays? Skip up to Tarpon Springs and try Momma’s for Greek. Visit me and talk some baseball at E&E Steakout Grill in Indian Rocks

    Like

  3. There is more than one way to go with this answer & more than one name to choose from. However, having only one choice, I will use the phrase “the buck stops here” & say Mr. I. Perhaps the organization under performs because he is overly involved. If he is the arbiter, he owns the results of the decisions he makes, approves, or interferes in.

    Like

  4. I agree with Helen. It has to be Mr. Illitch. He allowed DD to sign Brad Ausmus, a guy with no experience managing players outside of the Israeli WBC team in 2013. He hog tied the GM’s with Prince and J-Up. He has not done much for the minor league affiliates.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Holly, I think I know you’re opinion, but I would like to see you to take a meat cleaver to the Detroit main stream sports press in the near future. I, for one, cannot stomach the lack of honest and probing reporting seen there now. They really open themselves up to a lot of criticism. We know they are afraid of losing access, but they are not real reporters, more like shills and cheerleaders at this point.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It has to be Mike Ilitch. He did great things for the Wings and Tigers by recognizing the importance of strong management and leadership. Then he upends that approach by letting leaders such as Babcock and Dombrowski leave to be replaced by unproven individuals. Ausmus is a further example, however you feel about Jim Leyland. Add to this, his tendency to interfere in personnel matters to the detriment of the team – reportedly to include the acquisitions of Fielder, Upton and possibly others that Holly can document better than I.

    Like

  7. Nick-an old reporter who worked for both papers,no names, had a choice, write what the owner wanted or be gone. The owner told me that when I waited on his table. As a reporter in a northern Michigan college town ten years later I was given the same proposition by a booster’s club._Do what the boss and his friends and or business links tell you or “go ahead write your one article of your opinion” connotations obvious- it’ll be your last.

    Like

    • I love this blog too. I don’t have to worry about being banned because of my comments. Both of the detroit papers banned me from commenting simply because I commented earlier this past season that Mike Ilitch suffered his 2000th loss as Tigers owner and nobody in the local media mentioned it. I was banned and my comment was removed. How petty!

      Like

      • Are we surprised at anything the media does? Based on your comments, Bias by Omission is alive and well in the sports departments of the Detroit newspapers. I share your disgust.

        Like

  8. Lots of blame for Ausmus here and I’m not a huge fan, but the chef is somewhat tied to the ingredients he’s given. Biggest blame for me is David Chadd and the scouting department. When you can’t draft major league quality players (save for an occasional 1st round pick), you end up having to over spend on free agents or play pylons on defense in order to have some hitting. Tigers farm system is consistently rated at the bottom.

    Like

Comments are closed.